Fractal Bitcoin ranks #90 of 504 cryptocurrencies. On a list that also counts tokens, memecoins, wrapped coins, staked derivatives and stablecoins it appears at #539: 449 of the 538 assets ahead of it are not native coins but tokens or claims. A token is issued on a host blockchain rather than running its own; a claim stands for an asset already counted. Of the 544 non-native assets CoinSpectrum lists above it by market cap, about 59% are tokens, 33% are claims on other assets and 8% are memecoins.
| CoinSpectrum Grade | B · 67/100 · provisional |
|---|---|
| Rank among cryptocurrencies | #90 |
| Rank counting claims | #539 |
| Market capitalisation | $40M |
| Price | $0.3654 |
| Circulating supply | 109,914,532 FB |
| Maximum supply | 210,000,000 FB |
| Consensus family | Proof of Work |
| Consensus mechanism | SHA-256 (merge-mined with BTC) |
| Own hashrate | — |
| Network purpose | Payments |
| Ledger type | Single-asset ledger |
Market figures from the 28 October 2026 build. Open the live view for every exchange's price, and charts.
B — 67 out of 100, provisional (from 18 of 20 criteria, 28 October 2026 build). With what is not yet measured anywhere from nothing to full marks, the score would be 60 to 70 (C to B).
| Criterion | Score | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Leading Consensus Mechanisms (Source) | 10 | group average |
| Consensus: leader ladder | 10 | Proof of work: 10 of 10 on the ladder of consensus families ranked by their largest chain's market cap |
| Consensus: family ladder | 10 | Proof of work: 10 of 10 on the ladder of families ranked by the combined market cap of their chains |
| Cryptocurrency Standards (Source) | 6 | group average, 11 of 13 measured |
| Sound Money Qualities (6 checks) | 8.2 | 4.9 of 6 points source |
| Scarcity: a fixed cap that holds, and a supply near 21 million | 9.4 | fixed maximum supply of 210 million: supply scale 8.7, cap 10 |
| Durability: five years or more with no halt, freeze or reversal | ✗ | 2 full years since its first recorded price, no halt, freeze or reversal in five years |
| Fungibility: every unit interchangeable, none the protocol can freeze or set apart | ✓ | no authority can freeze, blacklist or set apart a coin |
| Divisibility: the smallest unit worth a cent or less | ✓ | 8 decimal places, the smallest unit worth $3.7e-9 |
| Portability: fees of a cent or less and capacity for real demand | ✓ | typical fee $5e-7; about 236 transactions a second (6.1 on the throughput scale; 5 is the busiest networks' median demand) |
| Verifiability: open-source nodes and checking without a trusted server | ✓ | node software open source; light clients verify from headers or proofs |
| Privacy (5 checks) | 4 | 2 of 5 passed source |
| Whitepaper privacy: keys are not tied to an identity | ✓ | Anyone can generate keys and receive and send coins; the consensus rules carry no identity check. |
| UTXO ledger: a new key for each payment, no account linking every coin | ✓ | |
| Network-level privacy: the node hides where a transaction came from (Dandelion++, Tor or I2P, on by default) | ✗ | Bitcoin Core-derived node: Tor/I2P only if the user configures them; no Dandelion. |
| Hidden amounts (confidential transactions, RingCT, shielded pools, Mimblewimble) | ✗ | Amounts are public on the UTXO chain. |
| Hidden sender and receiver (ring signatures or zero-knowledge proofs, one-time or stealth addresses) | ✗ | Addresses are public; no ring signatures or stealth addresses. |
| Scalability (fees, throughput, block time, block space, features) | 7.6 | average of 5 parts source |
| Fees ($0.001 or less 10, $1 or more 0) | 10 | typical fee $5e-7 |
| Throughput (2,478 a second, the busiest network's peak day, 10; 119, the median of the ten busiest, 5) | 6.1 | about 236 simple transactions a second |
| Block time (10 minutes 10, less either side) | 5.3 | a block every 30 seconds |
| Block space per 10 minutes (32 MB or more 10) | 10 | 4 MB limit, 80 MB per 10 minutes |
| Features (3 checks) | 6.7 | 2 of 3 passed |
| Payments safe to accept within seconds | ✗ | 30 s blocks on a Bitcoin Core 29 base, which relays full replace-by-fee by default, so zero-confirmation is not protected. |
| Pruned nodes: a full node can validate and drop old history | ✓ | fractald v0.2.3 lowered the -prune minimum to 10,000 blocks; Bitcoin Core-style block pruning. |
| Light clients verify payments from headers or proofs, without a trusted server | ✓ | Bitcoin-format headers with Merkle roots support SPV verification (Bitcoin §8). |
| Security (miner pay and 7 checks) | 5.4 | 5.4 of 9 points source |
| Miners paid a day ($1,000 0, $10 million or more 10), 2 points | 2 | about $6,576 a day |
| Its own hashrate: at least half its algorithm's largest, not merge-mined | ✗ | merge-mined: its blocks are found by another chain's miners |
| Largest pool or validator under 50% | ✓ | 13.3% |
| Largest three under 75% | ✓ | 37.6% |
| More than one maintained client | ✗ | 1 |
| Node software is open source | ✓ | Fractal Bitcoin (incubated by the UniSat team) maintains the only node, fractal-bitcoin/fractal (MIT, Bitcoin Core fork), and ships the releases. |
| Real on-chain use: 1,000+ transactions a day | ✓ | about 11,856,000 a day |
| No 51% attack or deep reorganisation in five years | ✓ | |
| Programmability (tokens, contracts, 5 checks) | 4.4 | 4 of 9 points source |
| Token issuance through a metaprotocol | 1 | BRC-20, Runes, CAT20: read by indexers, not validated by the chain's nodes |
| Smart contracts: scripting for spending conditions | 1 | Bitcoin Core-derived Script (fractal-29.x branch) with OP_CAT re-enabled; covenants are possible but applications are tracked by indexers. |
| Multisig and time locks | ✓ | Bitcoin's OP_CHECKMULTISIG, CLTV and CSV inherited from Bitcoin Core. |
| Atomic swaps with other chains | ✓ | Bitcoin-style HTLCs are expressible in its Script. |
| An exchange built into the protocol | ✗ | No exchange in the protocol. |
| Cross-chain messaging the chain verifies itself | ✗ | Merge-mined with Bitcoin, but no protocol messaging to other chains. |
| Non-fungible tokens | ✗ | No NFT rules in consensus; Ordinals and CAT721 are read by indexers. |
| Decentralisation | 6.1 | section average, 6 of 8 measured |
| Censorship resistant (Source) | 10 | No authority can halt the chain or freeze funds: No freeze or clawback power; no halts on record. source |
| No central team (Source) | 0 | A central team directs it: Fractal Bitcoin (incubated by the UniSat team) maintains the only node, fractal-bitcoin/fractal (MIT, Bitcoin Core fork), and ships the releases. source |
| Who can mint (Source) | 10 | Proof of work: 10 of 10 on the ladder of who produces blocks |
| Nodes (Source) | — | Not yet counted |
| Holder concentration (Source) | — | Not yet measured |
| Premine (allocated at launch) | 3.3 | 66.6% of today's supply allocated at launch to founders, a company, a foundation or investors. 50% of the 210M cap (105M FB) was pre-allocated (ecosystem treasury 15%, core contributors 15%, community grants 10%, advisors 5%, presale 5%), against a current total supply of 157,690,025 FB (MEXC, Sep 2026), which matches 105M plus about 52.7M mined since the Sep 2024 launch. source |
| Fundraising | 3.3 | Sold by its issuer or insiders: 66.6% of supply was theirs to sell, 6.7% sold so far. The pre-allocation sets aside 5% of the 210M cap (10.5M FB) for presale participants. 10.5M / 157,690,025 FB current total supply (MEXC, Sep 2026) = 6.7%. The presale price, buyers and whether the full 5% was placed are not disclosed. UniSat's own strategic/pre-Series A rounds are company-level and are not separately counted. 5% presale allocation. UniSat (the developer) raised undisclosed strategic and pre-Series A rounds: LK Ventures (Jan 2023), OKX Ventures, ABCDE and Vitalbridge (Feb 2024), CGV FoF (Mar 2024), and Binance Labs-led (May 2024). source |
| Developer share (after launch) | 10 | No developer share: every new coin goes to the miners or validators who produce blocks. The 105M pre-allocation (50% of the cap) was minted at launch (Sep 2024) and is counted as premine. Block rewards (25 FB, halving every 2.1M blocks) go to merged and permissionless miners. Since FIP-101 (2026), a third of rewards goes to indexers and the FB stakers who back them. These are permissionless participants, not a developer, foundation or treasury, so this is not counted, although only the official Fractal indexer ran in the first test stage. source |
| Supply & Demand | 7.5 | group average |
| Supply & Demand (Source) | 6.3 | average of 6 measures |
| Exchanges (10 or more: 10) | 7 | 7 exchanges |
| Daily volume ($10K 0, $1B or more 10) | 3.8 | $2,631,881 traded in 24 hours; #734 by volume on the exchanges the site reads (scored on the median day of the last 30, $789,127) |
| Turnover (volume ÷ market cap, 5% a day: 10) | 7.8 | 1.9% of its market cap a day, median of the last 30 days |
| Order-book depth (bids and asks within 2% ÷ market cap, 1%: 10) | 5 | $12,891 within 2% of the price on 3 exchanges, 0.03% of its market cap, median of the last 2 days |
| Market cap ($1M 0, $10B or more 10) | 4 | $40M, 4 on a scale of 2.5 points per tenfold |
| Paper trading (futures, options and margin ÷ market cap, 0%: 10, 100%: 0) | 10 | no futures, options or margin on the exchanges read |
| Supply (smaller is better) | 8.7 | fixed maximum supply of 210 million |
| Record | 6.3 | group average |
| Record (origin, claims, halts) | 10 | 3 positive, 0 negative source |
| Positive record | ||
| Launched with a stated purpose, not as a joke | ✓ | |
| No claims by its founders that contradict its own design | ✓ | |
| No halt, freeze or reversal in five years | ✓ | |
| Age (years since genesis) (Source) | 2 | 2 full years since 2024-09-12, the first day with a recorded price (genesis not yet researched, so the age can only be understated). |
| Development (work, improvements, unfixed issues) | 7 | 2 positive, 0 negative, 1 not yet researched source |
| Positive | ||
| Steady work, 6 of 6 | ✓ | 3 commits in 2 of the last 12 months (github.com/fractal-bitcoin/fractald-release); fractal-bitcoin/fractald-release v0.4.0, 2026-08-10; 8 releases in 24 months. |
| Shipped a security fix in two years, +1 | ✓ | fractald v0.2.9, Sep 2025: rebased from Bitcoin Core v24 to v29, taking in Core's disclosed security patches. |
| Not yet researched | ||
| Unfixed vulnerabilities and exploits | – | |
Twenty criteria, weighted equally. The Cryptocurrency Standards have six sections: sound money qualities (six checks: scarcity, durability, fungibility, divisibility, portability, verifiability), privacy (five checks), scalability (four measures and three features), security (miner pay and seven checks), programmability (token issuance, smart contracts and five checks) and decentralisation (censorship resistance, no central team, who can mint, nodes, holders, premine, fundraising and developer share). Provisional: criteria marked — are not yet measured and are left out of the average. A rating of structure and market depth, not a price forecast or investment advice. How the grade is built · Highest-graded cryptocurrencies.
109,914,532 of a maximum 210,000,000 FB are in circulation — 52.3% of the total that will ever exist.
| Premine (allocated at launch) | 66.6% of today's supply |
|---|---|
| Sold by the issuer or insiders | 6.7% of today's supply |
| Developer share received since launch | 0% of today's supply |
| Developer share of new coins today | 0% |
| Fundraising | Private or venture funding |
50% of the 210M cap (105M FB) was pre-allocated (ecosystem treasury 15%, core contributors 15%, community grants 10%, advisors 5%, presale 5%), against a current total supply of 157,690,025 FB (MEXC, Sep 2026), which matches 105M plus about 52.7M mined since the Sep 2024 launch.
5% presale allocation. UniSat (the developer) raised undisclosed strategic and pre-Series A rounds: LK Ventures (Jan 2023), OKX Ventures, ABCDE and Vitalbridge (Feb 2024), CGV FoF (Mar 2024), and Binance Labs-led (May 2024).
The pre-allocation sets aside 5% of the 210M cap (10.5M FB) for presale participants. 10.5M / 157,690,025 FB current total supply (MEXC, Sep 2026) = 6.7%. The presale price, buyers and whether the full 5% was placed are not disclosed. UniSat's own strategic/pre-Series A rounds are company-level and are not separately counted.
The 105M pre-allocation (50% of the cap) was minted at launch (Sep 2024) and is counted as premine. Block rewards (25 FB, halving every 2.1M blocks) go to merged and permissionless miners. Since FIP-101 (2026), a third of rewards goes to indexers and the FB stakers who back them. These are permissionless participants, not a developer, foundation or treasury, so this is not counted, although only the official Fractal indexer ran in the first test stage.
Sources: yellow.com · mexc.com · coinex.com · kucoin.com · viabtc.net · viabtc.com. Researched 2026-10-24, low confidence.
392 EH/s is recorded against Fractal Bitcoin, but it is merge-mined in part and the split between its own blocks and a parent's is not published — so its own share reads as unknown.
No SEC/CFTC determination — unclassified.
The regulator's position, reported as stated, not CoinSpectrum's. Assets nobody has ruled on are left unclassified rather than sorted by a guess.
Fractal Bitcoin is #90 among cryptocurrencies and #539 in the market ranking, which lists wrapped coins, staked derivatives, stablecoins and tokens alongside them. CoinSpectrum counts an asset once, and counts only cryptocurrencies: assets with their own blockchain and their own consensus. A wrapped coin, a staked derivative or a stablecoin is a claim on something already counted; a token, memecoin or otherwise, runs on another chain's blocks. All of them are listed, each in its own section, and none is added to the total. The 449 places between Fractal Bitcoin's two ranks are held by claims and tokens, not by other networks. The methodology sets out the rule and the counting rule argues for it.
The price above is the median of the exchanges the site reads live, checked every minute and cross-checked against a market snapshot (how market data is gathered). The grade is scored on published criteria, each with its source (the method). The site is independent, nothing on it is a paid placement, and its statements are signed (about CoinSpectrum, the manifesto).