Somnia ranks #105 of 504 cryptocurrencies. On a list that also counts tokens, memecoins, wrapped coins, staked derivatives and stablecoins it appears at #685: 580 of the 684 assets ahead of it are not native coins but tokens or claims. A token is issued on a host blockchain rather than running its own; a claim stands for an asset already counted. Of the 687 non-native assets CoinSpectrum lists above it by market cap, about 61% are tokens, 30% are claims on other assets and 9% are memecoins.
| CoinSpectrum Grade | C · 59/100 · provisional |
|---|---|
| Rank among cryptocurrencies | #105 |
| Rank counting claims | #685 |
| Market capitalisation | $29M |
| Price | $0.1829 |
| Circulating supply | 160,200,000 SOMI |
| Maximum supply | 1,000,000,000 SOMI |
| Consensus family | Proof of Stake |
| Consensus mechanism | MultiStream (PoS + PBFT) |
| Ledger type | Multi-asset ledger |
Market figures from the 28 October 2026 build. Open the live view for every exchange's price, and charts.
C — 59 out of 100, provisional (from 18 of 20 criteria, 28 October 2026 build). With what is not yet measured anywhere from nothing to full marks, the score would be 52 to 64 (C to B).
| Criterion | Score | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Leading Consensus Mechanisms (Source) | 9.1 | group average |
| Consensus: leader ladder | 9.1 | Proof of stake: 9.1 of 10 on the ladder of consensus families ranked by their largest chain's market cap |
| Consensus: family ladder | 9.1 | Proof of stake: 9.1 of 10 on the ladder of families ranked by the combined market cap of their chains |
| Cryptocurrency Standards (Source) | 4.5 | group average, 10 of 12 measured |
| Sound Money Properties (6 checks) (Source) | 5.8 | 2.9 of 5 points, 1 not yet measured source |
| Scarcity (Limited supply · 1 Store of value · Whitepaper §6) | 8.9 | fixed maximum supply of 1 billion: supply scale 7.8, cap 10 |
| Durability (Sustainability · 1 Store of value) | ✗ | 1 full year since its first recorded price, no halt, freeze or reversal in five years |
| Fungibility (Interchangeability · 3 Unit of account) | ✓ | every unit identical and worth any other |
| Portability (Scalability · 2 Medium of exchange) | – | typical fee $0.000023 |
| Divisibility (Flexibility · 3 Unit of account) | ✓ | 18 decimal places, the smallest unit worth $1.8e-19 |
| Verifiability (Authenticity check · 1 Store of value · Whitepaper §8) | ✗ | node software not open source |
| Scalability (fees, throughput, block time, block space, features) | 5.6 | average of 3 parts source |
| Fees ($0.001 or less 10, $1 or more 0) | 10 | typical fee $0.000023 |
| Throughput (2,478 a second, the busiest network's peak day, 10; 119, the median of the ten busiest, 5) | – | not yet measured |
| Block time (10 minutes 10, less either side) | 1.7 | a block every 3 seconds |
| Block space per 10 minutes (32 MB or more 10) | – | not yet measured |
| Features (3 checks) | 5 | 1 of 2 passed, 1 not yet researched |
| Fast payments (Safe to accept within seconds · Whitepaper §11) | ✓ | MultiStream consensus with a PBFT-style finality layer finalises in under a second (blocks about every 0.1 s). |
| Pruned nodes (Old history dropped, every rule checked · Whitepaper §7) | – | Node pruning is not documented. |
| Light clients (Payments verified from headers · Whitepaper §8) | ✗ | No light-client protocol is documented; users rely on RPC providers. |
| Security (miner pay and 7 checks) | 2.6 | 2 of 7 points, 2 not yet measured source |
| Miner pay (A day, $1,000 0 to $10 million 10; 2 points) | 0 | not mined |
| Own hashrate (Half its algorithm's largest, not merge-mined) | ✗ | not mined |
| Largest pool (Pool or validator under 50%) | – | |
| Largest three (Under 75% together) | – | |
| Clients (More than one maintained) | ✗ | 1 |
| Open source (Node software) | ✗ | Improbable and the Somnia (Virtual Society) Foundation develop the node; no node source code is published, only operator binaries. |
| Real use (1,000+ transactions a day) | ✓ | about 1,655,383 a day |
| No 51% attack (Nor a deep reorganisation, five years) | ✓ | |
| Decentralisation | 4.8 | section average, 6 of 8 measured |
| Censorship resistant (Source) | 10 | No authority can halt the chain or freeze funds: No protocol-level freeze or clawback of SOMI is documented. source |
| No central team (Source) | 0 | A central team directs it: Improbable and the Somnia (Virtual Society) Foundation develop the node; no node source code is published, only operator binaries. source |
| Who can mint (Source) | 8.6 | Proof of stake: 8.6 of 10 on the ladder of who produces blocks |
| Nodes (Source) | — | Not yet counted |
| Holder concentration (Source) | — | Not yet measured |
| Premine (allocated at launch) | 0 | 100% of today's supply allocated at launch to founders, a company, a foundation or investors. The 1B SOMI supply was fully allocated at token generation on 2 September 2025 (27.925% community, 27.345% ecosystem, 15.15% investors, 15% launch partners, 11% team, 3.58% advisors); total supply is still 1B (CoinGecko, 2026-10-23). source |
| Fundraising | 0 | Sold by its issuer or insiders: 100% of supply was theirs to sell, 15.2% sold so far. No public sale. The investors' allocation is 15.15% of the fixed 1B SOMI (151.5M; backers include a16z, SoftBank, Mirana, SIG, DCG), presumably bought through private rounds whose token terms are not disclosed. Launch partners, community and ecosystem allocations are not counted. 151.5M / 1B = 15.2%. Investors hold 15.15% of supply (12-month cliff, then 36-month vesting). Round sizes and names were not verified here; Somnia was developed with backing from Improbable and MSquared. No public sale was found; distribution was through airdrops and community allocations. source |
| Developer share (after launch) | 10 | No developer share: every new coin goes to the miners or validators who produce blocks. The supply is fixed at 1B SOMI, all allocated at TGE (Sep 2025) and still 1B. Validators earn fees, half of which are burned, and rewards from pre-allocated pools. There is no new issuance to cut. source |
| Privacy | 2 | section average |
| Privacy (5 checks) | 2 | 1 of 5 passed source |
| Protocol level privacy (Keys not tied to an identity · Whitepaper §10) | ✓ | Any secp256k1 key can hold and send SOMI; the chain's account and transfer rules carry no identity check. |
| UTXO ledger (A new key for each payment · Whitepaper §2, §9) | ✗ | |
| Network privacy (Origin hidden by default) | ✗ | No Dandelion relay or built-in Tor in the Somnia node. |
| Hidden amounts (Amounts confidential) | ✗ | Public EVM ledger. |
| Hidden parties (Sender and receiver hidden) | ✗ | Accounts are public. |
| Programmability (tokens, contracts, 5 checks) | 7.8 | 7 of 9 points source |
| Token issuance (At protocol level) | 2 | EVM-compatible Layer 1 on which any account can deploy ERC-20 contracts. |
| Smart contracts (General-purpose) | 2 | EVM-compatible Layer 1 whose mainnet is live. |
| Multisig and time locks (Without a third party) | ✓ | Multisig and time-lock contracts on its EVM. |
| Atomic swaps (With other chains) | ✓ | Solidity HTLCs can be deployed on its EVM. |
| Native exchange (Built into the protocol) | ✗ | No exchange in the protocol. |
| Cross-chain messaging (Verified by the chain itself) | ✗ | No protocol-level cross-chain messaging documented. |
| NFTs (Carried by the chain's rules) | ✓ | ERC-721 contracts run by its EVM. |
| Supply & Demand | 7.5 | group average |
| Supply & Demand (Source) | 7.1 | average of 6 measures |
| Exchanges (10 or more: 10) | 10 | 14 exchanges |
| Daily volume ($10K 0, $1B or more 10) | 4 | $916,435 traded in 24 hours; #665 by volume on the exchanges the site reads (scored on the median day of the last 30, $986,431) |
| Turnover (volume ÷ market cap, 5% a day: 10) | 9.1 | 3.3% of its market cap a day, median of the last 30 days |
| Order-book depth (bids and asks within 2% ÷ market cap, 1%: 10) | 10 | $441,898 within 2% of the price on 7 exchanges, 1.5% of its market cap, median of the last 2 days |
| Market cap ($1M 0, $10B or more 10) | 3.7 | $29M, 3.7 on a scale of 2.5 points per tenfold |
| Paper trading (futures, options and margin ÷ market cap, 0%: 10, 100%: 0) | 5.8 | futures, options and margin positions 18% of its market cap |
| Supply (smaller is better) | 7.8 | fixed maximum supply of 1 billion |
| Record | 6.7 | group average |
| Record (origin, claims, halts) | 10 | 3 positive, 0 negative source |
| Positive record | ||
| Launched with a stated purpose, not as a joke | ✓ | |
| No claims by its founders that contradict its own design | ✓ | |
| No halt, freeze or reversal in five years | ✓ | |
| Age (years since genesis) (Source) | 1 | 1 full year since 2025-09-02, the first day with a recorded price (genesis not yet researched, so the age can only be understated). |
| Development (work, improvements, unfixed issues) | 9 | 4 positive, 0 negative, 1 not yet researched source |
| Positive | ||
| Steady work, 6 of 6 | ✓ | No public client release page; operator node upgrades shipped in April 2026 (Nodit notices). |
| Shipped a security fix in two years, +1 | ✓ | Hotfix of 11 May 2026 (Cuthbert shadow-verification issue exploitable by a malicious transaction); Jig hard fork, 6 Aug 2026: Blake2f precompile edge case. |
| Shipped a scaling upgrade in two years, +1 | ✓ | Jig hard fork, 6 Aug 2026: parallelised PBFT/BLS and per-transaction validation and sustained-use discounts on the base gas price. |
| Shipped a new capability for users in two years, +1 | ✓ | Ingot hard fork, 15 Apr 2026: EIP-7702, session transactions and on-chain event reactivity. |
| Not yet researched | ||
| Unfixed vulnerabilities and exploits | – | |
Twenty criteria, weighted equally. The Cryptocurrency Standards have five sections: sound money (six qualities: scarcity, durability, fungibility, portability, divisibility, verifiability), scalability (four measures and three features), security (miner pay and seven checks), decentralisation (censorship resistance, no central team, who can mint, nodes, holders, premine, fundraising and developer share) and privacy (five checks); programmability (token issuance, smart contracts and five checks) follows them. Provisional: criteria marked — are not yet measured and are left out of the average. A rating of structure and market depth, not a price forecast or investment advice. How the grade is built · Highest-graded cryptocurrencies.
160,200,000 of a maximum 1,000,000,000 SOMI are in circulation — 16.0% of the total that will ever exist.
| Premine (allocated at launch) | 100% of today's supply |
|---|---|
| Sold by the issuer or insiders | 15.2% of today's supply |
| Developer share received since launch | 0% of today's supply |
| Developer share of new coins today | 0% |
| Fundraising | Private or venture funding |
The 1B SOMI supply was fully allocated at token generation on 2 September 2025 (27.925% community, 27.345% ecosystem, 15.15% investors, 15% launch partners, 11% team, 3.58% advisors); total supply is still 1B (CoinGecko, 2026-10-23).
Investors hold 15.15% of supply (12-month cliff, then 36-month vesting). Round sizes and names were not verified here; Somnia was developed with backing from Improbable and MSquared. No public sale was found; distribution was through airdrops and community allocations.
No public sale. The investors' allocation is 15.15% of the fixed 1B SOMI (151.5M; backers include a16z, SoftBank, Mirana, SIG, DCG), presumably bought through private rounds whose token terms are not disclosed. Launch partners, community and ecosystem allocations are not counted. 151.5M / 1B = 15.2%.
The supply is fixed at 1B SOMI, all allocated at TGE (Sep 2025) and still 1B. Validators earn fees, half of which are burned, and rewards from pre-allocated pools. There is no new issuance to cut.
Sources: blog.somnia.network · theblock.co · docs.somnia.network · coingecko.com · docs.somnia.network · blog.somnia.network. Researched 2026-10-24, low confidence.
No SEC/CFTC determination — unclassified.
The regulator's position, reported as stated, not CoinSpectrum's. Assets nobody has ruled on are left unclassified rather than sorted by a guess.
Somnia is #105 among cryptocurrencies and #685 in the market ranking, which lists wrapped coins, staked derivatives, stablecoins and tokens alongside them. CoinSpectrum counts an asset once, and counts only cryptocurrencies: assets with their own blockchain and their own consensus. A wrapped coin, a staked derivative or a stablecoin is a claim on something already counted; a token, memecoin or otherwise, runs on another chain's blocks. All of them are listed, each in its own section, and none is added to the total. The 580 places between Somnia's two ranks are held by claims and tokens, not by other networks. The methodology sets out the rule and the counting rule argues for it.
The price above is the median of the exchanges the site reads live, checked every minute and cross-checked against a market snapshot (how market data is gathered). The grade is scored on published criteria, each with its source (the method). The site is independent, nothing on it is a paid placement, and its statements are signed (about CoinSpectrum, the manifesto).
See the 1 wrapped and staked claim on Somnia →