Concordium ranks #95 of 508 cryptocurrencies. On a list that also counts tokens, memecoins, wrapped coins, staked derivatives and stablecoins it appears at #559: 464 of the 558 assets ahead of it are not native coins but tokens or claims. A token is issued on a host blockchain rather than running its own; a claim stands for an asset already counted. Of the 561 non-native assets CoinSpectrum lists above it by market cap, about 59% are tokens, 33% are claims on other assets and 9% are memecoins.
| CoinSpectrum Grade | C · 58/100 · provisional |
|---|---|
| Rank among cryptocurrencies | #95 |
| Rank counting claims | #559 |
| Market capitalisation | $39M |
| Price | $0.00307 |
| Circulating supply | 12,765,390,947 CCD |
| Maximum supply | no fixed cap |
| Consensus family | Proof of Stake |
| Consensus mechanism | PoS + Afgjort finality |
| Ledger type | Multi-asset ledger |
Market figures from the 28 October 2026 build. Open the live view for every exchange's price, and charts.
C — 58 out of 100, provisional (from 15 of 17 criteria, 28 October 2026 build). With what is not yet measured anywhere from nothing to full marks, the score would be 51 to 64 (D to B).
| Criterion | Score | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Leading Consensus Mechanisms (Source) | 9.1 | group average |
| Consensus: leader ladder | 9.1 | Proof of stake: 9.1 of 10 on the ladder of consensus families ranked by their largest chain's market cap |
| Consensus: family ladder | 9.1 | Proof of stake: 9.1 of 10 on the ladder of families ranked by the combined market cap of their chains |
| Cryptocurrency Standards | 5.3 | group average, 4 of 6 measured |
| Properties (10 whitepaper checks) (Source) | 3 | 3 of 10 passed source |
| Anyone can mint (permissionless) | ✓ | PoS + Afgjort finality |
| Limited supply | ✗ | an issuer or vote can mint outside the schedule |
| No pre-issuance or developer mint | ✗ | |
| No developer tax | ✗ | |
| No authority that can halt the chain or freeze funds | ✓ | No party can freeze native CCD; anonymity revokers can de-anonymise an account on a legal order but cannot move or freeze funds. |
| No central team | ✗ | concordium-node is developed in the Concordium GitHub organisation by the Concordium Foundation and its development company, which set the roadmap. |
| Fees under one cent | ✗ | typical fee $0.011 |
| Payments safe to accept within seconds | ✓ | Concordium BFT (since Protocol 6) finalises blocks of about 2 seconds within a few seconds. |
| UTXO ledger | ✗ | |
| Privacy built into the protocol | ✗ | Shielded (encrypted) transfers were deprecated in Protocol 7, which disabled shielding, so ordinary CCD transfers are public; the identity layer is for compliance, not privacy. |
| Scalability (fees, throughput, block time, block space) | 4.5 | average of 2 measures source |
| Fees ($0.001 or less 10, $1 or more 0) | 6.5 | typical fee $0.011 |
| Throughput (1,000 transactions a second or more 10) | – | not yet measured |
| Block time (10 minutes 10, less either side) | 2.5 | a block every 5 seconds |
| Block space per 10 minutes (32 MB or more 10) | – | not yet measured |
| Security (9 checks) | 5 | 5 of 9 passed source |
| Miners paid over $1 million a day | ✗ | not mined |
| Miners paid over $100,000 a day | ✗ | |
| Its own hashrate: at least half its algorithm's largest, not merge-mined | ✗ | not mined |
| Largest pool or validator under 50% | ✓ | 5.1% |
| Largest three under 75% | ✓ | 15% |
| More than one maintained client | ✗ | 1 |
| Node software is open source | ✓ | concordium-node is developed in the Concordium GitHub organisation by the Concordium Foundation and its development company, which set the roadmap. |
| Real on-chain use: 1,000+ transactions a day | ✓ | about 43,100 a day |
| No 51% attack or deep reorganisation in five years | ✓ | |
| Decentralisation: who can mint (Source) | 8.6 | Proof of stake: 8.6 of 10 on the ladder of who produces blocks |
| Decentralisation: nodes (Source) | — | Not yet counted |
| Decentralisation: holder concentration (Source) | — | Not yet measured |
| Capabilities (protocol features) | 0 | 0 of 6 passed, 1 not yet measured source |
| Decentralisation | ||
| Network-level privacy: the node hides where a transaction came from (Dandelion++, Tor or I2P, on by default) | ✗ | concordium-node gossips transactions directly; no Dandelion relay or built-in Tor. |
| Light clients verify payments from headers or proofs, without a trusted server | ✗ | Wallets query a node or wallet-proxy service; no light client verifying finalization proofs ships with the protocol. |
| Scalability | ||
| Pruned nodes: a full node can validate and drop old history | – | No pruning mode for concordium-node was documented. |
| Native payment channels or instant payments | ✗ | No payment channels; Concordium BFT finality does not count. |
| Security | ||
| Hidden amounts (confidential transactions, RingCT, shielded pools, Mimblewimble) | ✗ | Protocol 7 disabled shielding of CCD, so new transfers cannot hide amounts (only unshielding of old balances remains). |
| Hidden sender and receiver (ring signatures or zero-knowledge proofs, one-time or stealth addresses) | ✗ | Accounts are public on chain; no stealth addresses or sender-hiding proofs. |
| Issuance | 5.4 | group average |
| Premine (allocated at launch) | 3.2 | 68.2% of today's supply allocated at launch to founders, a company, a foundation or investors. 10B CCD were created at genesis (mainnet June 2021), against a total supply of about 14.67B CCD (Finary, late Sep 2026); minting was 8% a year, cut to 4% in Oct 2024. source |
| Fundraising | 3.2 | Sold by its issuer or insiders: 68.2% of supply was theirs to sell, 1.7% sold so far. Four 2021 private token rounds raised ~$36M at a reported $1.45B valuation on the 10B genesis (~$0.145/CCD), implying ~248M CCD; earlier rounds may have been priced lower, so this is a floor. 248M / 14,719,180,981 CCD (CoinGecko total, 2026-10-24) = 1.7%. Four private token rounds in 2021 raised about $36M in total (including a $15M private sale in Mar 2021) at a reported $1.45B valuation; investors were not disclosed. Tokens were delivered to TPDA buyers in Jan 2022. source |
| Developer share (after launch) | 9.7 | Developer share: about 3.2% of today's supply received so far; 10% of each new block reward goes to them today. 10% of newly minted CCD goes to the Concordium Foundation's account under the mint-distribution parameters (the rest to bakers/validators: 85% plus 5% finalizers, merged into 90% validators at the late-2023 tokenomics redesign); the foundation share has been in place since mainnet (June 2021). Arithmetic: 14,719M total supply minus 10,000M genesis = 4,719M minted; x 10% = ~472M CCD = ~3.2% of supply. source |
| Supply & Demand | 4.5 | group average |
| Supply & Demand (Source) | 5 | average of 6 measures |
| Exchanges (10 or more: 10) | 6 | 6 exchanges |
| Volume rank among the top 200 | 0 | $123,293 traded in 24 hours; #1208 by volume on the exchanges the site reads (ranked on the median day of the last 30, $206,436) |
| Turnover (volume ÷ market cap, 5% a day: 10) | 4.5 | 0.46% of its market cap a day, median of the last 30 days |
| Order-book depth (bids and asks within 2% ÷ market cap, 1%: 10) | 5.6 | $18,200 within 2% of the price on 4 exchanges, 0.05% of its market cap, median of the last 2 days |
| Market cap ($1M 0, $10B or more 10) | 4 | $39M, 4 on a scale of 2.5 points per tenfold |
| Futures exposure (open interest ÷ market cap, less is better) | 10 | no perpetual futures on the exchanges read |
| Supply (smaller is better) | 4 | no fixed maximum; 12.8 billion in circulation |
| Record | 7.3 | group average |
| Record (origin, claims, halts) | 10 | 3 positive, 0 negative source |
| Positive record | ||
| Launched with a stated purpose, not as a joke | ✓ | |
| No claims by its founders that contradict its own design | ✓ | |
| No halt, freeze or reversal in five years | ✓ | |
| Age (years since genesis) (Source) | 4 | 4 full years since 2022-02-10, the first day with a recorded price (genesis not yet researched, so the age can only be understated). |
| Development (work, improvements, unfixed issues) | 8 | 3 positive, 0 negative source |
| Positive | ||
| Steady work, 6 of 6 | ✓ | 1,269 commits in 12 of the last 12 months (github.com/Concordium/concordium-node); concordium-node 10.0.12 released 2026-10-02. |
| Shipped a security fix in two years, +1 | ✓ | Concordium node 10.0.8 (May 2026): overflowing scheduled transfers made invalid (corrupted balances) plus DoS protections; 10.0.11–10.0.12 (Sep–Oct 2026): Wasm metering fixes. |
| Shipped a new capability for users in two years, +1 | ✓ | Protocol 9, 23 Sep 2025: protocol-level tokens (PLTs); Protocol 10 (node 10.0.4, Feb 2026): sponsored transactions. |
Seventeen criteria, weighted equally. The Cryptocurrency Standards group four parts: properties (ten checks drawn from the Bitcoin whitepaper), scalability (four measures), security (nine checks) and decentralisation (three scales). Provisional: criteria marked — are not yet measured and are left out of the average. A rating of structure and market depth, not a price forecast or investment advice. How the grade is built · Highest-graded cryptocurrencies.
12,765,390,947 CCD are in circulation, against no fixed cap — issuance has no defined end.
| Premine (allocated at launch) | 68.2% of today's supply |
|---|---|
| Sold by the issuer or insiders | 1.7% of today's supply |
| Developer share received since launch | 3.2% of today's supply |
| Developer share of new coins today | 10% |
| Fundraising | Private or venture funding |
10B CCD were created at genesis (mainnet June 2021), against a total supply of about 14.67B CCD (Finary, late Sep 2026); minting was 8% a year, cut to 4% in Oct 2024.
Four private token rounds in 2021 raised about $36M in total (including a $15M private sale in Mar 2021) at a reported $1.45B valuation; investors were not disclosed. Tokens were delivered to TPDA buyers in Jan 2022.
Four 2021 private token rounds raised ~$36M at a reported $1.45B valuation on the 10B genesis (~$0.145/CCD), implying ~248M CCD; earlier rounds may have been priced lower, so this is a floor. 248M / 14,719,180,981 CCD (CoinGecko total, 2026-10-24) = 1.7%.
10% of newly minted CCD goes to the Concordium Foundation's account under the mint-distribution parameters (the rest to bakers/validators: 85% plus 5% finalizers, merged into 90% validators at the late-2023 tokenomics redesign); the foundation share has been in place since mainnet (June 2021). Arithmetic: 14,719M total supply minus 10,000M genesis = 4,719M minted; x 10% = ~472M CCD = ~3.2% of supply.
Sources: forklog.com · coingecko.com · concordium.com · docs.concordium.com · docs.ccdexplorer.io · businesswire.com. Researched 2026-10-24, low confidence.
No SEC/CFTC determination — unclassified.
The regulator's position, reported as stated, not CoinSpectrum's. Assets nobody has ruled on are left unclassified rather than sorted by a guess.
Concordium is #95 among cryptocurrencies and #559 in the market ranking, which lists wrapped coins, staked derivatives, stablecoins and tokens alongside them. CoinSpectrum counts an asset once, and counts only cryptocurrencies: assets with their own blockchain and their own consensus. A wrapped coin, a staked derivative or a stablecoin is a claim on something already counted; a token, memecoin or otherwise, runs on another chain's blocks. All of them are listed, each in its own section, and none is added to the total. The 464 places between Concordium's two ranks are held by claims and tokens, not by other networks. The methodology sets out the rule and the counting rule argues for it.
The price above is the median of the exchanges the site reads live, checked every minute and cross-checked against a market snapshot (how market data is gathered). The grade is scored on published criteria, each with its source (the method). The site is independent, nothing on it is a paid placement, and its statements are signed (about CoinSpectrum, the manifesto).