Provenance Blockchain ranks #41 of 508 cryptocurrencies. On a list that also counts tokens, memecoins, wrapped coins, staked derivatives and stablecoins it appears at #119: 78 of the 118 assets ahead of it are not native coins but tokens or claims. A token is issued on a host blockchain rather than running its own; a claim stands for an asset already counted. Of the 107 non-native assets CoinSpectrum lists above it by market cap, about 56% are claims on other assets, 37% are tokens and 7% are memecoins.
| CoinSpectrum Grade | C · 55/100 · provisional |
|---|---|
| Rank among cryptocurrencies | #41 |
| Rank counting claims | #119 |
| Market capitalisation | $443M |
| Price | $0.00743 |
| Circulating supply | 59,544,160,002 HASH |
| Maximum supply | 100,000,000,000 HASH |
| Consensus family | Proof of Stake |
| Consensus mechanism | Tendermint (CometBFT) |
| Network purpose | Financial ledger |
| Ledger type | Multi-asset ledger |
Market figures from the 28 October 2026 build. Open the live view for every exchange's price, and charts.
C — 55 out of 100, provisional (from 16 of 17 criteria, 28 October 2026 build). With what is not yet measured anywhere from nothing to full marks, the score would be 51 to 58 (D to C).
| Criterion | Score | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Leading Consensus Mechanisms (Source) | 9.1 | group average |
| Consensus: leader ladder | 9.1 | Proof of stake: 9.1 of 10 on the ladder of consensus families ranked by their largest chain's market cap |
| Consensus: family ladder | 9.1 | Proof of stake: 9.1 of 10 on the ladder of families ranked by the combined market cap of their chains |
| Cryptocurrency Standards | 5.7 | group average, 5 of 6 measured |
| Properties (10 whitepaper checks) (Source) | 3.3 | 3 of 10 passed, 1 not yet measured source |
| Anyone can mint (permissionless) | ✗ | Tendermint (CometBFT) |
| Limited supply | – | an issuer or vote can mint outside the schedule |
| No pre-issuance or developer mint | ✗ | |
| No developer tax | ✓ | |
| No authority that can halt the chain or freeze funds | ✓ | Restricted markers let issuers force-transfer their own assets, but the native HASH coin has no freeze or clawback authority. |
| No central team | ✗ | Provenance was built by Figure Technologies, and its node software is maintained in the provenance-io repository under the Provenance Blockchain Foundation, with Figure as the dominant contributor. |
| Fees under one cent | ✗ | typical fee $0.15 |
| Payments safe to accept within seconds | ✓ | CometBFT gives single-block deterministic finality and blocks average about 4.3 s. |
| UTXO ledger | ✗ | |
| Privacy built into the protocol | ✗ | |
| Scalability (fees, throughput, block time, block space) | 5.6 | average of 4 measures source |
| Fees ($0.001 or less 10, $1 or more 0) | 2.7 | typical fee $0.15 |
| Throughput (1,000 transactions a second or more 10) | 7.4 | about 170 simple transactions a second |
| Block time (10 minutes 10, less either side) | 2.3 | a block every 4.34 seconds |
| Block space per 10 minutes (32 MB or more 10) | 10 | 5.24 MB limit, 725 MB per 10 minutes |
| Security (9 checks) | 5 | 5 of 9 passed source |
| Miners paid over $1 million a day | ✗ | not mined |
| Miners paid over $100,000 a day | ✗ | |
| Its own hashrate: at least half its algorithm's largest, not merge-mined | ✗ | not mined |
| Largest pool or validator under 50% | ✓ | 5.89% |
| Largest three under 75% | ✓ | 17.31% |
| More than one maintained client | ✗ | 1 |
| Node software is open source | ✓ | Provenance was built by Figure Technologies, and its node software is maintained in the provenance-io repository under the Provenance Blockchain Foundation, with Figure as the dominant contributor. |
| Real on-chain use: 1,000+ transactions a day | ✓ | about 6,951 a day |
| No 51% attack or deep reorganisation in five years | ✓ | |
| Decentralisation: who can mint (Source) | 8.6 | Proof of stake: 8.6 of 10 on the ladder of who produces blocks |
| Decentralisation: nodes (Source) | 6 | 64 active validators or block producers (source: Provenance) |
| Decentralisation: holder concentration (Source) | — | Not yet measured |
| Capabilities (protocol features) | 3.3 | 2 of 6 passed source |
| Decentralisation | ||
| Network-level privacy: the node hides where a transaction came from (Dandelion++, Tor or I2P, on by default) | ✗ | CometBFT mempool gossip relays transactions directly. |
| Light clients verify payments from headers or proofs, without a trusted server | ✓ | CometBFT light client verifies headers from validator signatures. |
| Scalability | ||
| Pruned nodes: a full node can validate and drop old history | ✓ | Cosmos SDK pruning strategies plus min-retain-blocks. |
| Native payment channels or instant payments | ✗ | No payment channels. |
| Security | ||
| Hidden amounts (confidential transactions, RingCT, shielded pools, Mimblewimble) | ✗ | No confidential transactions. |
| Hidden sender and receiver (ring signatures or zero-knowledge proofs, one-time or stealth addresses) | ✗ | No sender or receiver hiding. |
| Issuance | 3.3 | group average |
| Premine (allocated at launch) | 0 | 100% of today's supply allocated at launch to founders, a company, a foundation or investors. The fixed supply of 100B HASH was created at genesis by Figure / Provenance Blockchain Inc. and can be neither minted nor burned (no inflation); Figure retained about 71%. Total supply is 100B. source |
| Fundraising | 0 | Sold by its issuer or insiders: 100% of supply was theirs to sell. Not established. Provenance Blockchain Inc. sold HASH in a $20M Reg D security token offering (Apr 2019), but the units and price were not disclosed. The published allocation lumps buyers into 'Investors & Strategic Partners' at 28% (28B of 100B), which is only an upper bound. Figure's S-1 filings do not quantify HASH sales. In April 2019 Provenance Blockchain Inc. completed a $20M security token offering of HASH as a Reg D private placement to blockchain and traditional tech investors (Dechert advised Figure). source |
| Developer share (after launch) | 10 | No developer share: every new coin goes to the miners or validators who produce blocks. No issuance: the 100B HASH supply was fixed at genesis with no inflation, so there is no new issuance to cut. source |
| Supply & Demand | 2.2 | group average |
| Supply & Demand (Source) | 2.2 | average of 4 measures |
| Exchanges (10 or more: 10) | 2 | 2 exchanges |
| Volume rank among the top 200 | 0 | $16,627 traded in 24 hours; #2360 by volume |
| Turnover (volume ÷ market cap, 5% a day: 10) | 0 | 0.00% of its market cap a day |
| Order-book depth (bids and asks within 2% ÷ market cap, 1%: 10) | – | no order book on the nine exchanges read |
| Market cap ($1M 0, $10B or more 10) | 6.6 | $443M, 6.6 on a scale of 2.5 points per tenfold |
| Futures exposure (open interest ÷ market cap, less is better) | – | not measured |
| Supply (smaller is better) | 2.1 | fixed maximum supply of 100 billion |
| Record | 7.7 | group average |
| Record (origin, claims, halts) | 10 | 3 positive, 0 negative source |
| Positive record | ||
| Launched with a stated purpose, not as a joke | ✓ | |
| No claims by its founders that contradict its own design | ✓ | |
| No halt, freeze or reversal in five years | ✓ | |
| Age (years since genesis) (Source) | 4 | 4 full years since 2022-05-04, the first day with a recorded price (genesis not yet researched, so the age can only be understated). |
| Development (work, improvements, unfixed issues) | 9 | 3 positive, 0 negative, 2 not yet researched source |
| Positive | ||
| Steady work, 6 of 6 | ✓ | 430 commits in 12 of the last 12 months (github.com/provenance-io/provenance); provenanced v1.31.0, released 2026-10-02. |
| Shipped a security fix in two years, +1 | ✓ | Provenance v1.25.1, 14 Oct 2025: fixed ASA-2025-003; v1.27.2, 23 Jan 2026: CometBFT 'Tachyon' fix. |
| Token issuance at protocol level, validated by its own nodes, +2 | ✓ | Marker module: any account can create a marker (native coin) with MsgAddMarkerRequest if the denom matches the unrestricted-denom pattern; governance can create others. |
| Not yet researched | ||
| Shipped a scaling upgrade in two years | – | |
| Shipped a new capability for users in two years | – | |
Seventeen criteria, weighted equally. The Cryptocurrency Standards group four parts: properties (ten checks drawn from the Bitcoin whitepaper), scalability (four measures), security (nine checks) and decentralisation (three scales). Provisional: criteria marked — are not yet measured and are left out of the average. A rating of structure and market depth, not a price forecast or investment advice. How the grade is built · Highest-graded cryptocurrencies.
59,544,160,002 of a maximum 100,000,000,000 HASH are in circulation — 59.5% of the total that will ever exist.
| Premine (allocated at launch) | 100% of today's supply |
|---|---|
| Developer share received since launch | 0% of today's supply |
| Developer share of new coins today | 0% |
| Nodes or validators | 64 |
| Fundraising | Private or venture funding |
The fixed supply of 100B HASH was created at genesis by Figure / Provenance Blockchain Inc. and can be neither minted nor burned (no inflation); Figure retained about 71%. Total supply is 100B.
In April 2019 Provenance Blockchain Inc. completed a $20M security token offering of HASH as a Reg D private placement to blockchain and traditional tech investors (Dechert advised Figure).
Not established. Provenance Blockchain Inc. sold HASH in a $20M Reg D security token offering (Apr 2019), but the units and price were not disclosed. The published allocation lumps buyers into 'Investors & Strategic Partners' at 28% (28B of 100B), which is only an upper bound. Figure's S-1 filings do not quantify HASH sales.
No issuance: the 100B HASH supply was fixed at genesis with no inflation, so there is no new issuance to cut.
Sources: dechert.com · docs.provenance.io · sec.gov · docs.provenance.io · provenance.io · pulse2.com. Researched 2026-10-24, low confidence.
No SEC/CFTC determination — unclassified.
The regulator's position, reported as stated, not CoinSpectrum's. Assets nobody has ruled on are left unclassified rather than sorted by a guess.
Provenance Blockchain is #41 among cryptocurrencies and #119 in the market ranking, which lists wrapped coins, staked derivatives, stablecoins and tokens alongside them. CoinSpectrum counts an asset once, and counts only cryptocurrencies: assets with their own blockchain and their own consensus. A wrapped coin, a staked derivative or a stablecoin is a claim on something already counted; a token, memecoin or otherwise, runs on another chain's blocks. All of them are listed, each in its own section, and none is added to the total. The 78 places between Provenance Blockchain's two ranks are held by claims and tokens, not by other networks. The methodology sets out the rule and the counting rule argues for it.
The price above is the median of the exchanges the site reads live, checked every minute and cross-checked against a market snapshot (how market data is gathered). The grade is scored on published criteria, each with its source (the method). The site is independent, nothing on it is a paid placement, and its statements are signed (about CoinSpectrum, the manifesto).