Songbird (SGB)

Songbird ranks #129 of 504 cryptocurrencies. On a list that also counts tokens, memecoins, wrapped coins, staked derivatives and stablecoins it appears at #965: 836 of the 964 assets ahead of it are not native coins but tokens or claims. A token is issued on a host blockchain rather than running its own; a claim stands for an asset already counted. Of the 985 non-native assets CoinSpectrum lists above it by market cap, about 66% are tokens, 25% are claims on other assets and 9% are memecoins.

CoinSpectrum GradeC · 62/100 · provisional
Rank among cryptocurrencies#129
Rank counting claims#965
Market capitalisation$17M
Price$0.000889
Circulating supply18,704,087,847 SGB
Maximum supplyno fixed cap
Consensus familyProof of Stake
Consensus mechanismSnowman++ (stake-weighted, 1M SGB self-bond, Flare canary net)
Ledger typeMulti-asset ledger

Market figures from the 28 October 2026 build. Open the live view for every exchange's price, and charts.

CoinSpectrum Grade (Source)

C — 62 out of 100, provisional (from 18 of 20 criteria, 28 October 2026 build). With what is not yet measured anywhere from nothing to full marks, the score would be 56 to 67 (C to B).

CriterionScoreBasis
Leading Consensus Mechanisms (Source)9.1group average
Consensus: leader ladder9.1Proof of stake: 9.1 of 10 on the ladder of consensus families ranked by their largest chain's market cap
Consensus: family ladder9.1Proof of stake: 9.1 of 10 on the ladder of families ranked by the combined market cap of their chains
Cryptocurrency Standards (Source)5.6group average, 11 of 13 measured
Sound Money Qualities (6 checks)7.24.3 of 6 points source
Scarcity: a fixed cap that holds, and a supply near 21 million3.1no fixed maximum; 18.7 billion in circulation: supply scale 6.1, cap 0
Durability: five years or more with no halt, freeze or reversal✓5 full years since its first recorded price, no halt, freeze or reversal in five years
Fungibility: every unit interchangeable, none the protocol can freeze or set apart✓no authority can freeze, blacklist or set apart a coin
Divisibility: the smallest unit worth a cent or less✓18 decimal places, the smallest unit worth $8.9e-22
Portability: fees of a cent or less and capacity for real demand✓typical fee $0.000012; about 1,278 transactions a second (8.9 on the throughput scale; 5 is the busiest networks' median demand)
Verifiability: open-source nodes and checking without a trusted server✗node software open source; no light clients or pruned nodes
Privacy (5 checks)21 of 5 passed source
Whitepaper privacy: keys are not tied to an identity✓Any secp256k1 key can hold and send SGB; the chain's account and transfer rules carry no identity check.
UTXO ledger: a new key for each payment, no account linking every coin✗
Network-level privacy: the node hides where a transaction came from (Dandelion++, Tor or I2P, on by default)✗go-flare (AvalancheGo/coreth) gossip with no Dandelion or built-in Tor.
Hidden amounts (confidential transactions, RingCT, shielded pools, Mimblewimble)✗Public EVM ledger.
Hidden sender and receiver (ring signatures or zero-knowledge proofs, one-time or stealth addresses)✗Accounts are public.
Scalability (fees, throughput, block time, block space, features)6.7average of 5 parts source
Fees ($0.001 or less 10, $1 or more 0)10typical fee $0.000012
Throughput (2,478 a second, the busiest network's peak day, 10; 119, the median of the ten busiest, 5)8.9about 1,278 simple transactions a second
Block time (10 minutes 10, less either side)1.1a block every 2 seconds
Block space per 10 minutes (32 MB or more 10)101.75 MB limit (converted from its gas, compute, mass or count limit), 525 MB per 10 minutes
Features (3 checks)3.31 of 3 passed
Payments safe to accept within seconds✓Avalanche Snowman consensus gives deterministic finality in about 1-2 seconds.
Pruned nodes: a full node can validate and drop old history✗The coreth-based go-flare C-chain prunes state only; it has no option that deletes old blocks.
Light clients verify payments from headers or proofs, without a trusted server✗No light-client protocol for the chain; users rely on RPC.
Security (miner pay and 7 checks)55 of 9 points source
Miners paid a day ($1,000 0, $10 million or more 10), 2 points0not mined
Its own hashrate: at least half its algorithm's largest, not merge-mined✗not mined
Largest pool or validator under 50%✓6.1%
Largest three under 75%✓18.4%
More than one maintained client✗1
Node software is open source✓Flare Labs and the Flare Foundation develop go-flare, the only client, and govern Songbird through STP proposals.
Real on-chain use: 1,000+ transactions a day✓about 38,950 a day
No 51% attack or deep reorganisation in five years✓
Programmability (tokens, contracts, 5 checks)7.87 of 9 points source
Token issuance at protocol level, validated by its own nodes2ERC-20 contracts on its EVM, open to any account.
Smart contracts: a general-purpose contract system2EVM chain (Flare's canary network) open to any account.
Multisig and time locks✓Multisig and time-lock contracts on its EVM.
Atomic swaps with other chains✓Solidity HTLCs can be deployed on its EVM.
An exchange built into the protocol✗No exchange in the protocol.
Cross-chain messaging the chain verifies itself✗The Flare Data Connector is attested by voting data providers and verifier servers, not by the chain's own nodes verifying other chains.
Non-fungible tokens✓ERC-721 contracts run by its EVM.
Decentralisation5.5section average, 6 of 8 measured
Censorship resistant (Source)10No authority can halt the chain or freeze funds: No protocol-level freeze of user SGB is documented. source
No central team (Source)0A central team directs it: Flare Labs and the Flare Foundation develop go-flare, the only client, and govern Songbird through STP proposals. source
Who can mint (Source)8.6Proof of stake: 8.6 of 10 on the ladder of who produces blocks
Nodes (Source)—Not yet counted
Holder concentration (Source)—Not yet measured
Premine (allocated at launch)2.376.6% of today's supply allocated at launch to founders, a company, a foundation or investors. All 15B SGB at genesis were allocated by the project: about 0.1511 SGB per XRP to the XRP holders of the Dec 2020 Flare snapshot, plus the same-ratio share to the other FLR allocation holders (Flare entities, team and backers). There was no open minting at launch. 15,000M / 19,575.5M current total supply (CoinGecko, 2026-10-23) = 76.6%. source
Fundraising2.3Sold by its issuer or insiders: 76.6% of supply was theirs to sell, 2.4% sold so far. SGB was never sold directly. It was distributed at genesis at the same ratio as FLR allocations, so the FLR backers' 3.1% (bought in Flare's private rounds) carried ~465M SGB. 465M / 19,575.5M total supply (CoinGecko, 2026-10-23) = 2.4%. Flare Networks raised venture funding (Xpring investment Nov 2019; $11.3M from VCs and individuals June 2021, per Kraken). Whether SGB itself was sold in those rounds is not disclosed. source
Developer share (after launch)10No developer share: every new coin goes to the miners or validators who produce blocks. No cut. Songbird inflation is minted to the reward managers for FTSO data providers and delegators (FtsoRewardOffersManager 35%, FastUpdateIncentiveManager 15%, FdcHub 50% per the on-chain InflationAllocation contract), i.e. to the network's providers and validators, not to the Flare Foundation or a treasury. source
Supply & Demand5.2group average
Supply & Demand (Source)4.3average of 6 measures
Exchanges (10 or more: 10)33 exchanges
Daily volume ($10K 0, $1B or more 10)1.8$67,571 traded in 24 hours; #1709 by volume on the exchanges the site reads (scored on the median day of the last 30, $75,623)
Turnover (volume ÷ market cap, 5% a day: 10)4.40.43% of its market cap a day, median of the last 30 days
Order-book depth (bids and asks within 2% ÷ market cap, 1%: 10)3.7$2,215 within 2% of the price on 2 exchanges, 0.01% of its market cap, median of the last 2 days
Market cap ($1M 0, $10B or more 10)3.1$17M, 3.1 on a scale of 2.5 points per tenfold
Paper trading (futures, options and margin ÷ market cap, 0%: 10, 100%: 0)10no futures, options or margin on the exchanges read
Supply (smaller is better)6.1no fixed maximum; 18.7 billion in circulation
Record7group average
Record (origin, claims, halts)103 positive, 0 negative source
Positive record
Launched with a stated purpose, not as a joke✓
No claims by its founders that contradict its own design✓
No halt, freeze or reversal in five years✓
Age (years since genesis) (Source)55 full years since 2021-09-28, the first day with a recorded price (genesis not yet researched, so the age can only be understated).
Development (work, improvements, unfixed issues)61 positive, 0 negative, 2 not yet researched source
Positive
Steady work, 6 of 6✓103 commits in 12 of the last 12 months (github.com/flare-foundation/go-flare); go-flare v1.14.2, 23 Oct 2026; 10 stable releases in the last 24 months.
Not yet researched
Shipped a security fix in two years–
Shipped a new capability for users in two years–

Twenty criteria, weighted equally. The Cryptocurrency Standards have six sections: sound money qualities (six checks: scarcity, durability, fungibility, divisibility, portability, verifiability), privacy (five checks), scalability (four measures and three features), security (miner pay and seven checks), programmability (token issuance, smart contracts and five checks) and decentralisation (censorship resistance, no central team, who can mint, nodes, holders, premine, fundraising and developer share). Provisional: criteria marked — are not yet measured and are left out of the average. A rating of structure and market depth, not a price forecast or investment advice. How the grade is built · Highest-graded cryptocurrencies.

Supply

18,704,087,847 SGB are in circulation, against no fixed cap — issuance has no defined end.

Launch and allocation

Premine (allocated at launch)76.6% of today's supply
Sold by the issuer or insiders2.4% of today's supply
Developer share received since launch0% of today's supply
Developer share of new coins today0%
FundraisingPrivate or venture funding

All 15B SGB at genesis were allocated by the project: about 0.1511 SGB per XRP to the XRP holders of the Dec 2020 Flare snapshot, plus the same-ratio share to the other FLR allocation holders (Flare entities, team and backers). There was no open minting at launch. 15,000M / 19,575.5M current total supply (CoinGecko, 2026-10-23) = 76.6%.

Flare Networks raised venture funding (Xpring investment Nov 2019; $11.3M from VCs and individuals June 2021, per Kraken). Whether SGB itself was sold in those rounds is not disclosed.

SGB was never sold directly. It was distributed at genesis at the same ratio as FLR allocations, so the FLR backers' 3.1% (bought in Flare's private rounds) carried ~465M SGB. 465M / 19,575.5M total supply (CoinGecko, 2026-10-23) = 2.4%.

No cut. Songbird inflation is minted to the reward managers for FTSO data providers and delegators (FtsoRewardOffersManager 35%, FastUpdateIncentiveManager 15%, FdcHub 50% per the on-chain InflationAllocation contract), i.e. to the network's providers and validators, not to the Flare Foundation or a treasury.

The split of the 15B between XRP-holder airdrop and Flare-controlled allocations isn't published for SGB. The Defiant reported that one 2021 announcement covered 30% of supply. Under the brief, a founder-designed airdrop counts as premine, so the whole genesis counts either way.

Sources: support.btcmarkets.net · coingecko.com · songbird-api.flare.network · dev.flare.network · tradingview.com · kraken.com. Researched 2026-10-24, low confidence.

What a regulator has said

No SEC/CFTC determination — unclassified.

The regulator's position, reported as stated, not CoinSpectrum's. Assets nobody has ruled on are left unclassified rather than sorted by a guess.

How CoinSpectrum ranks Songbird

Songbird is #129 among cryptocurrencies and #965 in the market ranking, which lists wrapped coins, staked derivatives, stablecoins and tokens alongside them. CoinSpectrum counts an asset once, and counts only cryptocurrencies: assets with their own blockchain and their own consensus. A wrapped coin, a staked derivative or a stablecoin is a claim on something already counted; a token, memecoin or otherwise, runs on another chain's blocks. All of them are listed, each in its own section, and none is added to the total. The 836 places between Songbird's two ranks are held by claims and tokens, not by other networks. The methodology sets out the rule and the counting rule argues for it.

The price above is the median of the exchanges the site reads live, checked every minute and cross-checked against a market snapshot (how market data is gathered). The grade is scored on published criteria, each with its source (the method). The site is independent, nothing on it is a paid placement, and its statements are signed (about CoinSpectrum, the manifesto).

Read on the site

Other Proof of Stake chains

TX txXYM SymbolFOGO FogoBTY BityuanVERONA VeronaQIE QIE Blockchain