MAP Protocol ranks #159 of 504 cryptocurrencies. On a list that also counts tokens, memecoins, wrapped coins, staked derivatives and stablecoins it appears at #1110: 951 of the 1109 assets ahead of it are not native coins but tokens or claims. A token is issued on a host blockchain rather than running its own; a claim stands for an asset already counted. Of the 1339 non-native assets CoinSpectrum lists above it by market cap, about 71% are tokens, 21% are claims on other assets and 7% are memecoins.
| CoinSpectrum Grade | B · 65/100 · provisional |
|---|---|
| Rank among cryptocurrencies | #159 |
| Rank counting claims | #1110 |
| Market capitalisation | $7M |
| Price | $0.00111 |
| Circulating supply | 6,259,222,649 MAPO |
| Maximum supply | 10,000,000,000 MAPO |
| Consensus family | Proof of Stake |
| Consensus mechanism | HotStuff PoS (light-client bridge chain) |
| Ledger type | Multi-asset ledger |
Market figures from the 28 October 2026 build. Open the live view for every exchange's price, and charts.
B — 65 out of 100, provisional (from 18 of 20 criteria, 28 October 2026 build). With what is not yet measured anywhere from nothing to full marks, the score would be 57 to 68 (C to B).
| Criterion | Score | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Leading Consensus Mechanisms (Source) | 9.1 | group average |
| Consensus: leader ladder | 9.1 | Proof of stake: 9.1 of 10 on the ladder of consensus families ranked by their largest chain's market cap |
| Consensus: family ladder | 9.1 | Proof of stake: 9.1 of 10 on the ladder of families ranked by the combined market cap of their chains |
| Cryptocurrency Standards (Source) | 5.9 | group average, 11 of 13 measured |
| Sound Money Qualities (6 checks) | 8.6 | 4.3 of 5 points, 1 not yet measured source |
| Scarcity: a fixed cap that holds, and a supply near 21 million | 3.2 | fixed maximum supply of 10 billion, but an issuer or vote can mint outside the schedule: supply scale 6.4, cap 0 |
| Durability: five years or more with no halt, freeze or reversal | ✓ | 6 full years since its first recorded price, no halt, freeze or reversal in five years |
| Fungibility: every unit interchangeable, none the protocol can freeze or set apart | ✓ | no authority can freeze, blacklist or set apart a coin |
| Divisibility: the smallest unit worth a cent or less | ✓ | 18 decimal places, the smallest unit worth $1.1e-21 |
| Portability: fees of a cent or less and capacity for real demand | ✓ | typical fee $0.000003; about 202 transactions a second (5.9 on the throughput scale; 5 is the busiest networks' median demand) |
| Verifiability: open-source nodes and checking without a trusted server | – | node software open source |
| Privacy (5 checks) | 2 | 1 of 5 passed source |
| Whitepaper privacy: keys are not tied to an identity | ✓ | Any secp256k1 key can hold and send MAPO; the chain's account and transfer rules carry no identity check. |
| UTXO ledger: a new key for each payment, no account linking every coin | ✗ | |
| Network-level privacy: the node hides where a transaction came from (Dandelion++, Tor or I2P, on by default) | ✗ | Atlas nodes use standard devp2p gossip. |
| Hidden amounts (confidential transactions, RingCT, shielded pools, Mimblewimble) | ✗ | Public EVM ledger. |
| Hidden sender and receiver (ring signatures or zero-knowledge proofs, one-time or stealth addresses) | ✗ | Accounts are public. |
| Scalability (fees, throughput, block time, block space, features) | 5.8 | average of 5 parts source |
| Fees ($0.001 or less 10, $1 or more 0) | 10 | typical fee $0.000003 |
| Throughput (2,478 a second, the busiest network's peak day, 10; 119, the median of the ten busiest, 5) | 5.9 | about 202 simple transactions a second |
| Block time (10 minutes 10, less either side) | 3.1 | a block every 7.1 seconds |
| Block space per 10 minutes (32 MB or more 10) | 10 | 1.88 MB limit (converted from its gas, compute, mass or count limit), 158 MB per 10 minutes |
| Features (3 checks) | 0 | 0 of 1 passed, 2 not yet researched |
| Payments safe to accept within seconds | ✗ | Atlas BFT blocks are final when produced, but they come about every 6.5 seconds, over the 5-second bar. |
| Pruned nodes: a full node can validate and drop old history | – | Not established. |
| Light clients verify payments from headers or proofs, without a trusted server | – | Atlas hosts light clients of other chains (precompiled Ethereum light client); a light client of MAP's own chain for wallets was not established. |
| Security (miner pay and 7 checks) | 5 | 5 of 9 points source |
| Miners paid a day ($1,000 0, $10 million or more 10), 2 points | 0 | not mined |
| Its own hashrate: at least half its algorithm's largest, not merge-mined | ✗ | not mined |
| Largest pool or validator under 50% | ✓ | 7.6% |
| Largest three under 75% | ✓ | 22.9% |
| More than one maintained client | ✗ | 1 |
| Node software is open source | ✓ | The atlas client (mapprotocol/atlas, a Geth-derived codebase) is developed by the MAP Protocol team, which sets the roadmap. |
| Real on-chain use: 1,000+ transactions a day | ✓ | about 4,900 a day |
| No 51% attack or deep reorganisation in five years | ✓ | |
| Programmability (tokens, contracts, 5 checks) | 8.8 | 7 of 8 points, 1 not yet researched source |
| Token issuance at protocol level, validated by its own nodes | 2 | EVM-compatible relay chain on which any account can deploy ERC-20 contracts (a contract-creation estimate from an arbitrary address succeeds on the public RPC). |
| Smart contracts: a general-purpose contract system | 2 | EVM-compatible relay chain on which any account can deploy contracts. |
| Multisig and time locks | ✓ | Multisig and time-lock contracts on its EVM. |
| Atomic swaps with other chains | ✓ | Solidity HTLCs can be deployed on its EVM. |
| An exchange built into the protocol | ✗ | No exchange in the protocol. |
| Cross-chain messaging the chain verifies itself | – | Not established: MAP describes peer-to-peer cross-chain messaging built on light clients, but no fetched source shows whether the clients are protocol components or user contracts relayed by messengers. |
| Non-fungible tokens | ✓ | ERC-721 contracts run by its EVM. |
| Decentralisation | 5.9 | section average, 6 of 8 measured |
| Censorship resistant (Source) | 10 | No authority can halt the chain or freeze funds: No documented key can freeze or claw back native MAPO. source |
| No central team (Source) | 0 | A central team directs it: The atlas client (mapprotocol/atlas, a Geth-derived codebase) is developed by the MAP Protocol team, which sets the roadmap. source |
| Who can mint (Source) | 8.6 | Proof of stake: 8.6 of 10 on the ladder of who produces blocks |
| Nodes (Source) | — | Not yet counted |
| Holder concentration (Source) | — | Not yet measured |
| Premine (allocated at launch) | 3.3 | 67% of today's supply allocated at launch to founders, a company, a foundation or investors. All 10B MAPO were issued at launch with no traditional ICO. One aggregator (BitDegree) gives 32% to institutions/partners, 20% to the core team and 15% to the MAP Foundation, for 67% insider; the rest is community, mining and DAO. A January 2022 release said 'nearly 50%' would go to mining and the DAO. source |
| Fundraising | 3.3 | Sold by its issuer or insiders: 67% of supply was theirs to sell. Cannot be established. No primary tokenomics breaks out sold allocations; aggregators show a public-sale/funding split and an undisclosed strategic round (Nov 2024) without unit counts, and the 32% 'institutions/partners' bucket (BitDegree) does not separate sales from grants. Total supply is ~9.70B MAPO (MEXC/CryptoRank). Investors listed by PitchBook: Alpha Token Capital, DWF Labs, LK Ventures, Waterdrip Capital. Amounts not disclosed. CryptoRank lists a strategic round on 2024-11-08. source |
| Developer share (after launch) | 10 | No developer share: every new coin goes to the miners or validators who produce blocks. All 10B MAPO were issued at launch, and relay-chain validator rewards are paid from pre-allocated pools rather than new issuance, so there is no issuance to cut. This rests on aggregator descriptions, not on a primary source. source |
| Supply & Demand | 6.4 | group average |
| Supply & Demand (Source) | 6.3 | average of 6 measures |
| Exchanges (10 or more: 10) | 5 | 5 exchanges |
| Daily volume ($10K 0, $1B or more 10) | 3.5 | $371,482 traded in 24 hours; #853 by volume on the exchanges the site reads (scored on the median day of the last 30, $567,362) |
| Turnover (volume ÷ market cap, 5% a day: 10) | 9.2 | 7.0% of its market cap a day, median of the last 30 days |
| Order-book depth (bids and asks within 2% ÷ market cap, 1%: 10) | 7.9 | $16,317 within 2% of the price on 3 exchanges, 0.23% of its market cap, median of the last 2 days |
| Market cap ($1M 0, $10B or more 10) | 2.1 | $7.0M, 2.1 on a scale of 2.5 points per tenfold |
| Paper trading (futures, options and margin ÷ market cap, 0%: 10, 100%: 0) | 10 | no futures, options or margin on the exchanges read |
| Supply (smaller is better) | 6.4 | fixed maximum supply of 10 billion |
| Record | 6.7 | group average |
| Record (origin, claims, halts) | 10 | 3 positive, 0 negative source |
| Positive record | ||
| Launched with a stated purpose, not as a joke | ✓ | |
| No claims by its founders that contradict its own design | ✓ | |
| No halt, freeze or reversal in five years | ✓ | |
| Age (years since genesis) (Source) | 6 | 6 full years since 2020-01-06, the first day with a recorded price (genesis not yet researched, so the age can only be understated). |
| Development (work, improvements, unfixed issues) | 4 | 2 positive, 3 negative source |
| Positive | ||
| Steady work, 6 of 6 | ✓ | 23 commits in 5 of the last 12 months (github.com/mapprotocol/atlas); atlas v1.4.0 released 2026-10-16 (v1.3.1 2026-01-20, v1.3.0 2025-04-08). |
| Shipped a new capability for users in two years, +1 | ✓ | MAI hard fork at block 17,295,000 (~Apr 2025): PUSH0, MCOPY, warm COINBASE and EIP-6780 |
| Negative | ||
| Unfixed vulnerability, disclosed 2023-09-06, −1 | ✗ | go-ethereum GHSA-ppjg-v974-84cm (CVE-2023-40591, High) lets a flood of p2p pings spawn unbounded goroutines until the node runs out of memory; atlas v1.4.0 (the RPC reports atlas v1.4.0, with crypto/ecies taken from mapprotocol/go-ethereum v1.10.10-patch2) still answers pings in a new goroutine (fixed in 1.12.1). |
| Unfixed vulnerability, disclosed 2026-01-13, −1 | ✗ | go-ethereum GHSA-mr7q-c9w9-wh4h (CVE-2026-22862, High) lets a crafted p2p message crash the node with a too-short ECIES ciphertext; atlas v1.4.0 (the RPC reports atlas v1.4.0, with crypto/ecies taken from mapprotocol/go-ethereum v1.10.10-patch2) lacks the 1.16.8 length check. |
| Unfixed vulnerability, disclosed 2026-02-17, −1 | ✗ | go-ethereum GHSA-2gjw-fg97-vg3r (CVE-2026-26314, High) lets a crafted p2p message crash the node through unchecked secp256k1 point coordinates; atlas v1.4.0 (the RPC reports atlas v1.4.0, with crypto/ecies taken from mapprotocol/go-ethereum v1.10.10-patch2) lacks the 1.16.9 coordinate check. |
Twenty criteria, weighted equally. The Cryptocurrency Standards have six sections: sound money qualities (six checks: scarcity, durability, fungibility, divisibility, portability, verifiability), privacy (five checks), scalability (four measures and three features), security (miner pay and seven checks), programmability (token issuance, smart contracts and five checks) and decentralisation (censorship resistance, no central team, who can mint, nodes, holders, premine, fundraising and developer share). Provisional: criteria marked — are not yet measured and are left out of the average. A rating of structure and market depth, not a price forecast or investment advice. How the grade is built · Highest-graded cryptocurrencies.
6,259,222,649 of a maximum 10,000,000,000 MAPO are in circulation — 62.6% of the total that will ever exist.
| Premine (allocated at launch) | 67% of today's supply |
|---|---|
| Developer share received since launch | 0% of today's supply |
| Developer share of new coins today | 0% |
| Fundraising | Private or venture funding |
All 10B MAPO were issued at launch with no traditional ICO. One aggregator (BitDegree) gives 32% to institutions/partners, 20% to the core team and 15% to the MAP Foundation, for 67% insider; the rest is community, mining and DAO. A January 2022 release said 'nearly 50%' would go to mining and the DAO.
Investors listed by PitchBook: Alpha Token Capital, DWF Labs, LK Ventures, Waterdrip Capital. Amounts not disclosed. CryptoRank lists a strategic round on 2024-11-08.
Cannot be established. No primary tokenomics breaks out sold allocations; aggregators show a public-sale/funding split and an undisclosed strategic round (Nov 2024) without unit counts, and the 32% 'institutions/partners' bucket (BitDegree) does not separate sales from grants. Total supply is ~9.70B MAPO (MEXC/CryptoRank).
All 10B MAPO were issued at launch, and relay-chain validator rewards are paid from pre-allocated pools rather than new issuance, so there is no issuance to cut. This rests on aggregator descriptions, not on a primary source.
There is no official allocation table. The 67% comes from a secondary aggregator and conflicts in spirit with the 2022 'nearly 50% to mining and DAO' plan. If the community/mining share were treated as insider too, preminePct would be 100. soldPct is not established.
Sources: cryptorank.io · mexc.com · mapprotocol.io · docs.mapprotocol.io · bitdegree.org · iq.wiki. Researched 2026-10-24, low confidence.
No SEC/CFTC determination — unclassified.
The regulator's position, reported as stated, not CoinSpectrum's. Assets nobody has ruled on are left unclassified rather than sorted by a guess.
MAP Protocol is #159 among cryptocurrencies and #1110 in the market ranking, which lists wrapped coins, staked derivatives, stablecoins and tokens alongside them. CoinSpectrum counts an asset once, and counts only cryptocurrencies: assets with their own blockchain and their own consensus. A wrapped coin, a staked derivative or a stablecoin is a claim on something already counted; a token, memecoin or otherwise, runs on another chain's blocks. All of them are listed, each in its own section, and none is added to the total. The 951 places between MAP Protocol's two ranks are held by claims and tokens, not by other networks. The methodology sets out the rule and the counting rule argues for it.
The price above is the median of the exchanges the site reads live, checked every minute and cross-checked against a market snapshot (how market data is gathered). The grade is scored on published criteria, each with its source (the method). The site is independent, nothing on it is a paid placement, and its statements are signed (about CoinSpectrum, the manifesto).