Somnia (SOMI)

Somnia ranks #105 of 504 cryptocurrencies. On a list that also counts tokens, memecoins, wrapped coins, staked derivatives and stablecoins it appears at #685: 580 of the 684 assets ahead of it are not native coins but tokens or claims. A token is issued on a host blockchain rather than running its own; a claim stands for an asset already counted. Of the 687 non-native assets CoinSpectrum lists above it by market cap, about 61% are tokens, 30% are claims on other assets and 9% are memecoins.

CoinSpectrum GradeC · 59/100 · provisional
Rank among cryptocurrencies#105
Rank counting claims#685
Market capitalisation$29M
Price$0.1829
Circulating supply160,200,000 SOMI
Maximum supply1,000,000,000 SOMI
Consensus familyProof of Stake
Consensus mechanismMultiStream (PoS + PBFT)
Ledger typeMulti-asset ledger

Market figures from the 28 October 2026 build. Open the live view for every exchange's price, and charts.

CoinSpectrum Grade (Source)

C — 59 out of 100, provisional (from 18 of 20 criteria, 28 October 2026 build). With what is not yet measured anywhere from nothing to full marks, the score would be 52 to 64 (C to B).

CriterionScoreBasis
Leading Consensus Mechanisms (Source)9.1group average
Consensus: leader ladder9.1Proof of stake: 9.1 of 10 on the ladder of consensus families ranked by their largest chain's market cap
Consensus: family ladder9.1Proof of stake: 9.1 of 10 on the ladder of families ranked by the combined market cap of their chains
Cryptocurrency Standards (Source)4.8group average, 11 of 13 measured
Sound Money Qualities (6 checks)5.82.9 of 5 points, 1 not yet measured source
Scarcity: a fixed cap that holds, and a supply near 21 million8.9fixed maximum supply of 1 billion: supply scale 7.8, cap 10
Durability: five years or more with no halt, freeze or reversal✗1 full year since its first recorded price, no halt, freeze or reversal in five years
Fungibility: every unit interchangeable, none the protocol can freeze or set apart✓no authority can freeze, blacklist or set apart a coin
Divisibility: the smallest unit worth a cent or less✓18 decimal places, the smallest unit worth $1.8e-19
Portability: fees of a cent or less and capacity for real demand–typical fee $0.000023
Verifiability: open-source nodes and checking without a trusted server✗node software not open source
Privacy (5 checks)21 of 5 passed source
Whitepaper privacy: keys are not tied to an identity✓Any secp256k1 key can hold and send SOMI; the chain's account and transfer rules carry no identity check.
UTXO ledger: a new key for each payment, no account linking every coin✗
Network-level privacy: the node hides where a transaction came from (Dandelion++, Tor or I2P, on by default)✗No Dandelion relay or built-in Tor in the Somnia node.
Hidden amounts (confidential transactions, RingCT, shielded pools, Mimblewimble)✗Public EVM ledger.
Hidden sender and receiver (ring signatures or zero-knowledge proofs, one-time or stealth addresses)✗Accounts are public.
Scalability (fees, throughput, block time, block space, features)5.6average of 3 parts source
Fees ($0.001 or less 10, $1 or more 0)10typical fee $0.000023
Throughput (2,478 a second, the busiest network's peak day, 10; 119, the median of the ten busiest, 5)–not yet measured
Block time (10 minutes 10, less either side)1.7a block every 3 seconds
Block space per 10 minutes (32 MB or more 10)–not yet measured
Features (3 checks)51 of 2 passed, 1 not yet researched
Payments safe to accept within seconds✓MultiStream consensus with a PBFT-style finality layer finalises in under a second (blocks about every 0.1 s).
Pruned nodes: a full node can validate and drop old history–Node pruning is not documented.
Light clients verify payments from headers or proofs, without a trusted server✗No light-client protocol is documented; users rely on RPC providers.
Security (miner pay and 7 checks)2.62 of 7 points, 2 not yet measured source
Miners paid a day ($1,000 0, $10 million or more 10), 2 points0not mined
Its own hashrate: at least half its algorithm's largest, not merge-mined✗not mined
Largest pool or validator under 50%–
Largest three under 75%–
More than one maintained client✗1
Node software is open source✗Improbable and the Somnia (Virtual Society) Foundation develop the node; no node source code is published, only operator binaries.
Real on-chain use: 1,000+ transactions a day✓about 1,655,383 a day
No 51% attack or deep reorganisation in five years✓
Programmability (tokens, contracts, 5 checks)7.87 of 9 points source
Token issuance at protocol level, validated by its own nodes2EVM-compatible Layer 1 on which any account can deploy ERC-20 contracts.
Smart contracts: a general-purpose contract system2EVM-compatible Layer 1 whose mainnet is live.
Multisig and time locks✓Multisig and time-lock contracts on its EVM.
Atomic swaps with other chains✓Solidity HTLCs can be deployed on its EVM.
An exchange built into the protocol✗No exchange in the protocol.
Cross-chain messaging the chain verifies itself✗No protocol-level cross-chain messaging documented.
Non-fungible tokens✓ERC-721 contracts run by its EVM.
Decentralisation4.8section average, 6 of 8 measured
Censorship resistant (Source)10No authority can halt the chain or freeze funds: No protocol-level freeze or clawback of SOMI is documented. source
No central team (Source)0A central team directs it: Improbable and the Somnia (Virtual Society) Foundation develop the node; no node source code is published, only operator binaries. source
Who can mint (Source)8.6Proof of stake: 8.6 of 10 on the ladder of who produces blocks
Nodes (Source)—Not yet counted
Holder concentration (Source)—Not yet measured
Premine (allocated at launch)0100% of today's supply allocated at launch to founders, a company, a foundation or investors. The 1B SOMI supply was fully allocated at token generation on 2 September 2025 (27.925% community, 27.345% ecosystem, 15.15% investors, 15% launch partners, 11% team, 3.58% advisors); total supply is still 1B (CoinGecko, 2026-10-23). source
Fundraising0Sold by its issuer or insiders: 100% of supply was theirs to sell, 15.2% sold so far. No public sale. The investors' allocation is 15.15% of the fixed 1B SOMI (151.5M; backers include a16z, SoftBank, Mirana, SIG, DCG), presumably bought through private rounds whose token terms are not disclosed. Launch partners, community and ecosystem allocations are not counted. 151.5M / 1B = 15.2%. Investors hold 15.15% of supply (12-month cliff, then 36-month vesting). Round sizes and names were not verified here; Somnia was developed with backing from Improbable and MSquared. No public sale was found; distribution was through airdrops and community allocations. source
Developer share (after launch)10No developer share: every new coin goes to the miners or validators who produce blocks. The supply is fixed at 1B SOMI, all allocated at TGE (Sep 2025) and still 1B. Validators earn fees, half of which are burned, and rewards from pre-allocated pools. There is no new issuance to cut. source
Supply & Demand7.5group average
Supply & Demand (Source)7.1average of 6 measures
Exchanges (10 or more: 10)1013 exchanges
Daily volume ($10K 0, $1B or more 10)4$859,485 traded in 24 hours; #664 by volume on the exchanges the site reads (scored on the median day of the last 30, $986,431)
Turnover (volume ÷ market cap, 5% a day: 10)9.13.3% of its market cap a day, median of the last 30 days
Order-book depth (bids and asks within 2% ÷ market cap, 1%: 10)10$441,898 within 2% of the price on 7 exchanges, 1.5% of its market cap, median of the last 2 days
Market cap ($1M 0, $10B or more 10)3.7$29M, 3.7 on a scale of 2.5 points per tenfold
Paper trading (futures, options and margin ÷ market cap, 0%: 10, 100%: 0)5.8futures, options and margin positions 18% of its market cap
Supply (smaller is better)7.8fixed maximum supply of 1 billion
Record6.7group average
Record (origin, claims, halts)103 positive, 0 negative source
Positive record
Launched with a stated purpose, not as a joke✓
No claims by its founders that contradict its own design✓
No halt, freeze or reversal in five years✓
Age (years since genesis) (Source)11 full year since 2025-09-02, the first day with a recorded price (genesis not yet researched, so the age can only be understated).
Development (work, improvements, unfixed issues)94 positive, 0 negative, 1 not yet researched source
Positive
Steady work, 6 of 6✓No public client release page; operator node upgrades shipped in April 2026 (Nodit notices).
Shipped a security fix in two years, +1✓Hotfix of 11 May 2026 (Cuthbert shadow-verification issue exploitable by a malicious transaction); Jig hard fork, 6 Aug 2026: Blake2f precompile edge case.
Shipped a scaling upgrade in two years, +1✓Jig hard fork, 6 Aug 2026: parallelised PBFT/BLS and per-transaction validation and sustained-use discounts on the base gas price.
Shipped a new capability for users in two years, +1✓Ingot hard fork, 15 Apr 2026: EIP-7702, session transactions and on-chain event reactivity.
Not yet researched
Unfixed vulnerabilities and exploits–

Twenty criteria, weighted equally. The Cryptocurrency Standards have six sections: sound money qualities (six checks: scarcity, durability, fungibility, divisibility, portability, verifiability), privacy (five checks), scalability (four measures and three features), security (miner pay and seven checks), programmability (token issuance, smart contracts and five checks) and decentralisation (censorship resistance, no central team, who can mint, nodes, holders, premine, fundraising and developer share). Provisional: criteria marked — are not yet measured and are left out of the average. A rating of structure and market depth, not a price forecast or investment advice. How the grade is built · Highest-graded cryptocurrencies.

Supply

160,200,000 of a maximum 1,000,000,000 SOMI are in circulation — 16.0% of the total that will ever exist.

Launch and allocation

Premine (allocated at launch)100% of today's supply
Sold by the issuer or insiders15.2% of today's supply
Developer share received since launch0% of today's supply
Developer share of new coins today0%
FundraisingPrivate or venture funding

The 1B SOMI supply was fully allocated at token generation on 2 September 2025 (27.925% community, 27.345% ecosystem, 15.15% investors, 15% launch partners, 11% team, 3.58% advisors); total supply is still 1B (CoinGecko, 2026-10-23).

Investors hold 15.15% of supply (12-month cliff, then 36-month vesting). Round sizes and names were not verified here; Somnia was developed with backing from Improbable and MSquared. No public sale was found; distribution was through airdrops and community allocations.

No public sale. The investors' allocation is 15.15% of the fixed 1B SOMI (151.5M; backers include a16z, SoftBank, Mirana, SIG, DCG), presumably bought through private rounds whose token terms are not disclosed. Launch partners, community and ecosystem allocations are not counted. 151.5M / 1B = 15.2%.

The supply is fixed at 1B SOMI, all allocated at TGE (Sep 2025) and still 1B. Validators earn fees, half of which are burned, and rewards from pre-allocated pools. There is no new issuance to cut.

Sources: blog.somnia.network · theblock.co · docs.somnia.network · coingecko.com · docs.somnia.network · blog.somnia.network. Researched 2026-10-24, low confidence.

What a regulator has said

No SEC/CFTC determination — unclassified.

The regulator's position, reported as stated, not CoinSpectrum's. Assets nobody has ruled on are left unclassified rather than sorted by a guess.

How CoinSpectrum ranks Somnia

Somnia is #105 among cryptocurrencies and #685 in the market ranking, which lists wrapped coins, staked derivatives, stablecoins and tokens alongside them. CoinSpectrum counts an asset once, and counts only cryptocurrencies: assets with their own blockchain and their own consensus. A wrapped coin, a staked derivative or a stablecoin is a claim on something already counted; a token, memecoin or otherwise, runs on another chain's blocks. All of them are listed, each in its own section, and none is added to the total. The 580 places between Somnia's two ranks are held by claims and tokens, not by other networks. The methodology sets out the rule and the counting rule argues for it.

The price above is the median of the exchanges the site reads live, checked every minute and cross-checked against a market snapshot (how market data is gathered). The grade is scored on published criteria, each with its source (the method). The site is independent, nothing on it is a paid placement, and its statements are signed (about CoinSpectrum, the manifesto).

See the 1 wrapped and staked claim on Somnia →

Read on the site

Other Proof of Stake chains

CSPR Casper NetworkARK ARKLUNA TerraFLUX FluxGEODE Geode ChainSTEEM Steem